Home > Mulch, Orchard > Another Source of Mulch!

Another Source of Mulch!

On my way to work today, I saw another tree crew working on the trees lining the freeway onramp. I asked for their mulch and they happily took down my number. Later in the day, the truck driver called me to let me know that he had a truckload of mulch ready for delivery. I met up with him and then led him to the orchard. After unloading the much, Laver asked me if I wanted more loads. I told him I would take all he could bring me. He told me his crew would be in the area for the next four month so there should be many more loads to come.

The other tree crew which I found at the end of April has been routinely bringing mulch to the orchard. So far, they have unloaded about six loads. Now that I have found a second tree crew to bring mulch, I am thinking about just letting the piles of mulch accumulate and then renting a bobcat again to make quick work of spreading the mulch.

I started of mulching the orchard after watch the Back to Eden documentary. When I started the mulching I was hauling mulch from other locations to the orchard by the trailer load. It was a time-consuming, back-breaking work and made the prospect of covering the entire orchard seem extremely intimidating. A truckload of mulch is equivalent to approximately 10 loads on my 5×8 trailer. Therefore, being able to have the truckloads of mulch delivered directly onsite to the orchard is an absolute luxury and will at the very least save me from burnout.

The large amount of mulch is very welcome at this point. After several weeks of dry weather, we have recently been getting small rain showers. Each shower is followed by an astounding growth spurt for the kudzu which was completed cleared from the lot just a couple of months prior. The portion of the orchard which was already been covered with mulch is doing a very good job of discouraging unwanted weed and kudzu growth. So at this point, I am fervently racing against the kudzu to see who can cover more ground. Unfortunately, I have to admit, I am quickly losing the battle. The mulch is my only hope of winning these battles back. Now that it looks like I will have a steady supply of mulch, I am looking to cover the orchard at least 8 inches of mulch. This thick layer should choke out all unwanted plant growth as well as do an excellent job of retaining soil moisture.

20120611-021527.jpg

20120611-021535.jpg

Categories: Mulch, Orchard Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

