Home > Edible Garden, Rabbits > First Raised Bed Garden

First Raised Bed Garden

Around the first week of March, I began setting up my first raised bed garden.  While I had one at my previous house, I have been too busy to start one at the current house since I moved in over three years ago.  I decided to start the first raised bed on the west sideyard since the space was doing nothing but growing weeds and since it gets a good supply of afternoon sun.  I decided to build my raised bed out of cinderblocks because that’s what I did before and from a cost and longevity perspective, I still have not found anything better.

 

Here’s a view of the side yard before I started:

Image

 

And the weeding begins:

Image

 

Weeding completed:

Image

 

Laying down weed block and cinderblocks:

Image

 

Nearing completion:

Image

 

Once the raised bed construction was completed, I created my soil mix from equal parts mixture of peat moss, vermiculite (you can get these at Pike’s Nursery), and rabbit manure from my meat rabbits.

It is now several weeks since I planted my first batch of transplants and everything is coming along very nicely.  Here’s what I have in the raised bed thus far:

  • strawberries
  • leeks
  • green onions
  • basil
  • oregano
  • thyme
  • horseradish
  • chinese lettuce
  • kale
  • green collard
  • bell peppers
  • beans
  • tomatoes
  • garlic
Categories: Edible Garden, Rabbits
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

